MEDIOEVAL TOWN

Online booking
powered by xenion

A small village nestled at the top of a hill, dominated by the Castle of the Counts Della Gherardesca, once surrounded by walls whose sea facing front, still visible today, together with the church of San Lorenzo, forms the original settlement of the hamlet. Around the Castle, whose construction probably dates back to the year 1000, the urban center has developed according to a pattern of concentric rings that give life to a system of streets, alleys and squares.

In front of the church of San Lorenzo, stands the Church of S.S. Crucifix, which preserves inside the wooden Crucifix of the fifteenth century, found among the ruins of the ancient monastery of San Colombano and praised by the locals, a lively worship which culminates with the celebrations of the so called “Feste Triennali”.

CONTACT US